Wednesday, 20 July 2016

A Woman's Work Is Never Done?

Women have contested three Labour Leadership Elections, namely the last three, in 1994, in 2010, and in 2015.

In 1994, Jeremy Corbyn nominated, and he voted for, Margaret Beckett.

In 2010, he nominated, and he voted for, Diane Abbott.

In 2015, he was himself a candidate, nominated both by Beckett and by Abbott, at least one of whom certainly voted for him.

But in 2016, the Parliamentary Labour Party has actively preferred a man over a woman as its challenger to him, thereby ensuring an all-male contest for the first time since 1992.

No comments:

Post a Comment